Houndmouth: The Soundtrack to My Summer

houndmouth Somehow, every year, I manage to find a band that creates music that sounds like summer to me. A band that plays music made for road trips and music festivals and campfires in the backyard and days at the beach and watching the sun rise and set. Usually, they become the soundtrack to my vacation – the play count on my iTunes continues to rise and the record stays almost permanently fixated to my turntable. This year, my summer band comes in the form of Houndmouth, a four-piece folk-rock band from New Albany, Indiana. And I’m obsessed with them.

Houndmouth plays soulful, hearty blues mixed with rock mixed with folk. That’s as accurate as I can be. It’s the kind of music that you can dance to underneath the moon and sing along to at the top of your lungs. It makes you long for fresh air and starry nights and rolled-down windows and it has that magical power that only really good music possesses that makes a smile pull across your face as soon as it comes on. I’m in love with the sounds they make.

I happened across Houndmouth by accident. I was driving home from work last week and Indie88, my radio station of choice, began playing “Sedona,” the lead single from their newest album, Little Neon Limelight. Work is not always my favourite thing in the world and I was happy to be done my shift and the soft, slow vibes of the song just augmented my happiness. I loved it as soon as I heard it and when I got home, I promptly downloaded the entire album. I’ve been listening to it non-stop for the past few days, and I’m planning on ordering a vinyl copy of it within the week. And believe me, that’s a big step. Owning a physical record is a commitment. It means the love for the album is strong.

Essentially, this band is liquid sunshine and happiness, but they also play ridiculously good slow tracks that probably have the ability to bring the listener to tears. I can assure you that Little Neon Limelight is going to be an album that I listen to for the majority of the summer, and I am completely okay with that. Everyone needs some music that can instantly lift their mood and brighten their day, and as of right now, Houndmouth is doing that for me.

Listen to “Sedona” here:

Leave a Reply

