New in Vinyl: January 2016

IMG_2369

I am an admittedly nosey individual. I love watching those “What’s in My Bag” YouTube videos and I like knowing what groceries people buy and what their rooms look like. I’m just interested in habits and collections and all that kind of stuff. The things that make people tick. Record collections deeply intrigue me because I like seeing how different individuals store and display their vinyl and where they put their most-played records and how big of a shrine they have for their wax babies. I myself count record collecting as one of my favourite hobbies, and with numerous record shops scattered around Toronto, it’s quite easy to feed that addiction. As a result, here I am, starting a new segment on the blog where I show you all the vinyl I acquire each month. This could end up being a wild ride.

IMG_2356

1. London Calling by The Clash

I am so happy to finally have this in my collection. The Clash are a staple for me, and there are some days when you just need to put on a little punk and let your angst out. London Calling is a classic, no doubt about it. The title track is well-known and well-loved by hoards of people, and some of my favourites from the album include “Clampdown,” “Hateful,” and “Revolution Rock.

IMG_2361

2. White Light/White Heat by The Velvet Underground

Oh my gosh do I love The Velvet Underground. Re-presses make old releases easy to find and relatively cheap to buy, and for that I am eternally grateful, as it means I can grow my collection of sixties and seventies records at a fairly steady pace. I love the vibe of this album and the aesthetic of the album art and pretty much everything about it. Highlights include the album’s namesake, “White Light/White Heat,” as well as “I Heard Her Call Me Name” and “Temptation Inside Your Heart.

IMG_2350

3. Tell Me I’m Pretty by Cage The Elephant

Can we just take a moment for this album and all it’s gloriousness? From the cover photo to the gatefold photo to the record itself, I’m head over heels in love with it (hence why I included it in my Top 11 Albums of 2015.) It sounds incredible on vinyl and overall I’m just super proud to say that this is the first Cage the Elephant record I’ve added to my collection, and for good reason. It’s definitely been a staple this past month.

IMG_2359

4. Easter by Patti Smith Group

Oh, Patti, how I love thee. I made the impulsive decision to buy this while I was browsing Kops Records just a few days after getting back to Toronto, and it was possibly one of the best impulse decisions I’ve ever made. Hearing “Babelogue” and “Because the Night” come through a needle is a divine experience, and I think we could all use a little more Patti Smith in our lives. She just seems to make everything better.

IMG_2352

5. What Kind of Man by Florence + the Machine (Record Store Day 2015 Release)

I was beyond gutted when this sold out on Record Store Day. A girl about two spots in front of me picked up the last copy at Rotate This and copies on Discogs were going for ridiculous amounts of money and I just kept narrowly missing it. Then, last Saturday, there were suddenly three copies at Sonic Boom. For seventeen dollars. I grabbed one right away and bought it without a second thought, and I am so glad that I did. The song is pressed onto a gorgeous blue-grey wax that I just can’t get over, and the B-side called “As Far As I Could Get” is absolutely magical. I am over the moon that I finally have it in my possession.

IMG_2354

6. Interior Light by Young Rival

This album is a jam and a half. I love how summery and jangly it is and it’s the kind of record that puts you in a good mood within about three seconds. I picked it up on a whim at Kops last week and have had it on my turntable for the past few days just because it’s so damn good. The record itself is an unusual berry pink that deeply pleases me, and Paper Bag Records put really cool wraps on their LPs that just add a certain something and make my inner design geek extremely happy.

IMG_2364

7. Blank Generation by Richard Hell + the Voidoids

Out of all the records on this list, I think I’m most excited about finally having my hands on this one. Blank Generation is one of my favourite records that came out of CBGBs in the seventies and Richard Hell is one of my favourite people and a huge influence on a lot of what I do. I’ve been searching for this for a long time and I snatched it up as soon as I found it in the magical bins of Rotate This. I also had a great conversation with the lady at the cash about how great the record is and how much we love Richard Hell, so that was an added bonus. I’ve already spun it two or three times and I can pretty much guarantee that it’ll be on my turntable for the next week or so.

In hindsight, I acquired way more records this month than I originally thought. I’m not complaining – I love each and every one of them and I’m so excited that I own them all now. Record collecting is an adventure from beginning to end, and I’m glad that I have the ability to share my finds with all of you. And, if anyone wants to share what they’ve picked up recently then please do!

Leave a Reply

