Weekly Playlist: Summer in the City

FullSizeRender

I just moved into the most glorious apartment I could have asked for. It’s downtown but not too central, close enough to the Leslieville that I can walk to my favourite brunch spot, and has a view of the CN Tower, the Gardiner Expressway, and the Distillery District that takes my breath away. I’ve spent the past couple mornings sitting on the balcony sipping tea and reveling in the fact that I get to live here. This is my first proper summer in the city, and I’m quickly noticing how different it feels compared to the country. Toronto Island, High Park, and Trinity Bellwoods become jam-packed with people, Queen West and the Eaton Centre are more bustling than ever, and there are too many street festivals to count. And I love it. So much so that I felt pretty inspired to create this week’s playlist around that theme.

These are tunes for lounging on Woodbine Beach, hiking in Bluffer’s Park, waiting in ridiculous lines for ice cream from Sweet Jesus, and drinking endless iced vanilla lattes from Toronto’s bountiful array of coffee shops. They’re for weekend road trips outside of the city, drinks on patios, and spending Saturdays under the shade of a tree with a picnic and some pals. As much as I’m itching to get back to school and to hit play on learning once again, I’m trying to embrace what summer feels like in Toronto. It’s pretty safe to say that I’m enjoying it as much as I enjoy these songs.

One thought on “Weekly Playlist: Summer in the City

Leave a Reply

