Weekly Playlist: Songs for the Night

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

There’s something about the night that feels absolutely incredible. When the sun sets and the glass skyscrapers start looking rosy, that’s when I begin to feel the most comfortable and at home. The moon hangs heavy in the midst of a navy blue or black sky and stars pepper its blank canvas. As cities grow quiet and the air gets cooler, that’s when I feel the most alive. And, to break up the sometimes eerie quiet of the night, I need music.

At night, my brain often feels flooded. Full of inspiration, of passion, and of more ideas than I could ever get out of my head. I tend to spend hours writing blogposts or journaling, lighting candles and incense and setting up shop for a couple hours while I let anything and everything flow out of me. I paint and I read novels and poetry and I write out quotes and doodle like there’s no tomorrow. And I listen to an awful lot of music.

This is a playlist full of songs that accompany me when I stay up into the wee hours of the morning. They’re all kind of slow-burning and intense, soft and comforting and honestly just really good. I go back to these same tracks over and over again, to the point where they really do feel like familiar companions and a crucial part of my creative process. These are songs that inspire me in their own ways and keep me going when I should really just finish an album review or write a poem rather than leaving my ideas until the next day.

If you want to listen to the entire playlist, go right ahead. I’d love that. If you’re looking for the absolute best tracks, go straight to Spector and Broken Social Scene and Gabriel Bruce. ‘All the Sad Young Men’ is an indescribable track, one that puts me at ease in an instant and inspires me to no end. ‘Anthems for a Seventeen Year Old Girl’ is a song that everyone should know no matter what, and its honestly pretty much perfect. ‘El Musgo’ is heavy and dark and silky and I absolutely adore it. I love every track on this playlist, and all of these songs have accompanied me through various creative pursuits. I hope you love them as much as I do.

P.S. – I was dying to put The Vaccines’ “Lonely World” on this playlist, but the world is cruel sometimes and it’s not on Spotify. I would highly recommend listening to it, preferably in the dark with headphones on and at top volume.

Leave a Reply

