Weekly Playlist – Short and Sweet

There’s some kind of magic in songs that fall under the three-minute mark. It takes a lot to pack enough into a song that barely makes it into the territory of a decent length, but a lot of bands have proven over the years that they can do it quite well. The Beatles are known for their two-minute tunes, and punk bands like The Clash and The Ramones have solid collections of tracks that are short but still incredible. It mystifies me, but that doesn’t stop me from loving them anyway.

This playlist is quite a collection. It ranges in genre and mood, it encompasses my widely varying and honestly kind of weird music taste, and I do think it’s pretty great. These songs are gifts. They communicate so much in so little time. They break the walls on emotion and let it flood through fast and hard. They’re songs about love, songs about lust, songs about nights out and lessons needing to be learned. Music allows artists to explore anything they want, and although this playlist is unified by the length of each track, it really does exhibit a realm of human emotion and thought.

I adore every track on this playlist. ‘Norgaard’ was one of the first songs that made me fall head over heels in love with The Vaccines, and we all know how that turned out. ‘Babelogue’ by Patti Smith inspired the name for this site, but the power she exudes through the track is also beyond words. ’12:51’ by The Strokes and ‘You Probably Couldn’t See For The Lights But You Were Staring Straight At Me’ by Arctic Monkeys were two songs that I spent years listening to on repeat, and that I still find myself singing along to. I don’t post things that I don’t love or feel passionate about, but this playlist in particular really showcases everything I love about music, and I hope it makes you feel something too.

Leave a Reply

